Friday, February 13, 2009

Support Multiple Sclerosis Awareness Week

Multiple Sclerosis Awareness Week, which will be recognized this year from March 2 to 8, is just around the corner. Encourage your Representative to co-sponsor the MS Awareness Week bill (H. Con. Res. 14).

Congresswoman Barbara Lee (CA-9) introduced the House resolution on January 8 to formally recognize MS Awareness Week. Original co-sponsors include our congressional MS Caucus co-chairs Congressmen Russ Carnahan (MO-3) and Michael Burgess, M.D (TX-26).

The MS Awareness Week resolution supports the various goals of MS Awareness Week, which include: reaffirming our nation's commitment to combating MS, recognizing people living with MS, and saluting the health care professionals and medical researchers who continue to work towards a world free of MS. A piece of legislation so early in a new Congress helps demonstrate the collective level of support for the MS community.

Take Action Today!

  • Check the list below to see if your Representative is a co-sponsor.
  • If your Representative is not currently a co-sponsor, click here to send them a quick e-mail to ask for their support of this legislation.

The following is a list of current co-sponsors of the MS Awareness Week bill (H. Con. Res. 14):

  • Howard Berman (CA-28)
  • Roy Blunt (MO-7)
  • Madeleine Bordallo (GU)
  • Michael Burgess (TX-26)
  • Russ Carnahan (MO-3)
  • Kathy Castor (FL-11)
  • Steve Cohen (TN-9)
  • Tom Cole (OK-4)
  • Elijah Cummings (MD-7)
  • Danny Davis (IL-7)
  • Donna Edwards (MD-4)
  • Keith Ellison (MN-5)
  • Jo Ann Emerson (MO-8)
  • Barney Frank (MA-4)
  • Michael Honda (CA-15)
  • Patrick Kennedy (RI-1)
  • Mary Jo Kilroy (OH-15)
  • Peter King (NY-3)
  • Sander Levin (MI-12)
  • Eric Massa (NY-29)
  • Kevin McCarthy (CA-22)
  • Betty McCollum (MN-4)
  • Jim McDermott (WA-7)
  • James McGovern (MA-3)
  • John McHugh (NY-23)
  • Michael Michaud (ME-2)
  • Dennis Moore (KS-3)
  • Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)
  • Ed Pastor (AZ-4)
  • Collin Peterson (MN-7)
  • Laura Richardson (CA-37)
  • Allyson Schwartz (PA-13)
  • Jose Serrano (NY-16)
  • Carol Shea-Porter (NH-1)
  • Adam Smith (WA-9)
  • Ellen Tauscher (CA-10)
  • Henry Waxman (CA-30)
  • Frank Wolf (VA-10)
  • David Wu (OR-1)


corky said...

I want to thank all of the senators who have supported this Bill

Sharon David said...

I was wondering why there are no representatives from South Carolina on that list

Sharon David

Anonymous said...

Thank you to all the senators who are supporting this bill.

Rachael Nike said...

COLORADO I AM so annoyed with our representatives I COULD JUST SPIT!! Seriouslly Colorado? We have the highest rate in the US and no support.

Marsha G said...

South Carolina Needs Support.
M. G. Williams

Anonymous said...

Scarier yet: Greedy Nevada!! Not a soul cares for its MS sufferers here!! All doctors here are either disbarred from practicing in other states or foreign and simply don't care about anything but money. Take for example the Shadow Lane Colonoscopy fiasco! Foreign doctors office was re-using exam gloves, syringes, and vials! They helped spread many cases of Hepatitis B and AIDS to colonoscopy patients! All to save a few pennies on rubber gloves and needles?!?! Does anyone give a damn? NOT NV. Representatives!! NV almost lost its only dialysis center in Las Vegas(UMC hospital's dialysis center). The people fought and kept it open -for now!! This state is so a**backwards, police pulled over my MS patient for blocking traffic with his powerchair!! Light only gave him 20 seconds to cross 12 lanes! This state ALLOWS U-Turns then wonders why people get hit by cars on the average of every 6-7 minutes! I got hit while walking on the sidewalk by a car performing an eight lane U-Turn and they hopped the sidewalk and knocked me down! That was my third day here in NV from PA!!! U-Turns are illegal on the east coast! But then again, look how PA cares about their MS sufferers as well! WAKE up, NV!!!

Anonymous said...

Thanks to all the senators who support the bill.